Library: GC Times Talk: Oct 26, 2022

“Iran’s Mahsa Amini Protests”

*Click for current New York Times Article.

Resources

Iran in the 20th Century by Touraj Atabaki (Editor)
Call Number: DS271.5 .I73 2009
ISBN: 9781845119621
Publication Date: 2009-06-17
Inside the Islamic Republic by Mahmood Monshipouri (Editor)
Call Number: DS318.825 .I638 2016
ISBN: 9780190264840
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Cultural Revolution in Iran by Annabelle Sreberny (Editor); Massoumeh Torfeh (Editor)
ISBN: 1784535133
Publication Date: 2017-04-30
The Islamic Republic of Iran has entered its fourth decade, and the values and legacy of the Revolution it was founded upon continue to have profound and contradictory consequences for Iranian life. Despite the repressive power of the current regime the immense creativity of popular cultural practices, that negotiate and resist a repressive system, is a potent and dynamic force. This book draws on the expertise and experience of Iranian and international academics and activists to address diverse areas of social and cultural innovation that are driving change and progress. While religious conservatism remains the creed of the establishment, this volume uncovers an underground world of new technology, media and entertainment that speaks to women seeking a greater public role and a restless younger generation that organises and engages with global trends online.
Women and Politics in Iran: Veiling, Unveiling and Reveiling by Hamideh Sedghi
ISBN: 1280959711
Publication Date: 2010-05-28

Media

Mahsa Amini Protests

Image from: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Amsterdam_Solidarity_with_Iran%27s_People_-_Mahsa_Amini_demonstrations_-_Oct_2022.jpg

Image from: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mahsa_Amini_Protest_2_(52375007956).jpg

Image from: https://www.flickr.com/photos/matthrkac/52382965796

Databases

International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution (2001-current), Los Angeles Times (1985-current), New York Times (1980-current), Wall Street Journal (1984-current), The Washington Post (1987-current).
This database also includes exclusive access to 85 full-text newspapers from the world-leading news and information provider, Gannett, plus an additional 7 U.S. military titles will be available on a non-exclusive basis. Gannett newspapers span 30 states providing high quality reporting to their local and regional constituencies.

Some titles of note in this database are:

• Atlanta Constitution (1990-2001)
• The Atlanta Journal (1995-2001)
• The Atlanta Journal-Constitution (2001-current)
• Augusta Chronicle (abstracts)
• Christian Science Monitor (1988-current)
• Georgia Trend (1986-current)
• The Guardian (1992-current)
• Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
• Macon Telegraph (abstracts)
• New York Times (1980-current)
• New York Times Book Review (1997-current)
• New York Times Magazine (1997-current)
• Savannah Morning News (1999-current)
• USA Today (1987-current)
• Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
• The Washington Post (1987-current)
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times 1851-2013.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.