In the post-Civil Rights era, there is a temptation to assume that racism is no longer the pressing social concern in the United States that it once was. The contributors show that racism has not fallen from the forefront of American society, but is manifest in a different way. According to the authors in this volume, in 21st century, skin color has come to replace race as an important cause of discrimination. This is evidenced in the increasing usage of the term "people of color" to encompass people of a variety of racial and ethnic backgrounds. The editor has compiled a diverse group of contributors to examine racism from an interdisciplinary perspective. Contributions range from the science of racism, from its perceived biological basis at the end of the 19th century, to sociological studies its new forms in the 21st century. The result is a work that will be invaluable to understanding the challenges of confronting Racism in the 21st Century.
The Psychology of Diversity presents a captivating social-psychological study of diversity, the obstacles confronting it, and the benefits it provides. Goes beyond prejudice and discrimination to discuss the personal and social implications of diversity for both majority and minority group members Considers how historical, political, economic, and societal factors shape the way people think about and respond to diversity Explains why discrimination leads to bias at all levels in society - interpersonal, institutional, cultural, and social Describes proven techniques for improving intergroup relations Examines the brain's impact on bias in clear terms for students with little or no background in neuroscience Includes helpful study tools throughout the text as well as an online instructor's manual
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics.
Sociological Collection includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.