The intent and uses of science are a continuing preoccupation, especially in public debates on issues such as new pharmaceuticals, cloning, stem cells, genetically modified foods, and assisted reproduction. Times of Triumph, Times of Doubt, written by the eminent geneticist and historian ElofCarlson, explores the moral foundations of science and their role in these hot-button issues. Carlson chooses a variety of case histories and describes their scientific background and the part played by scientists in the application of their work, including their motivations and reactions to badoutcomes, both real and alleged. He examines why ethical lapses have occurred in these areas, why bad things happen when, for the most part, those who worked on the science had only good intentions in mind, and how such lapses can be prevented from occurring in the future. This exploration of ethicsand science is important reading for those interested in issues of science and society, including journalists, theologians, legislators, lawyers, and scientists themselves.
The ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text.
Articles and abstracts from scholarly journals covering all the sciences, including the social sciences.
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books. Science Direct provides abstracts and selected complimentary full-text articles (identified with a green key) from scholarly journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
ProQuest Science Journals is a resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.
With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,600 titles-with more than 1,270 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including:
Physics
Engineering
Astronomy
Earth Science
Chemistry
Titles available from ProQuest Science Journals include:
Journal of Climate
The Journal of Nutrition
Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences
Critical Reviews in Environmental Science and Technology
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, men and women's health, and more.
Times of Triumph, Times of Doubt by 
