Skip to Main Content
Flannery O'Connor Collection
Manuscript Collections
- African American Collections and Materials Guide
- Bonner, James C. papers - Milledgeville historian and former Georgia College Professor of History
- Frank W. Bell - Milledgeville attorney
- Richard A. Blount - Postmaster, translator, and commissioner for the surveying of the Alabama-Georgia boundary line in 1826
- Bolton, Euri Belle papers - Georgia Normal & Industrial College student, teacher, Georgia State College for Women employee, and author
- Bridges, H. I. files - former postmaster of Sandersville, GA
- Chappell, Loretto correspondence - Georgia Department of Welfare, Children's Bureau Director (1950s); accused Communist (1951)
- Clements, Cherry Waldrep papers - Georgia State College for Women student, Georgia public school teacher
- Paul D. Coverdell - Georgia State Senator, United States Senator, Director of the Peace Corps
- Crawford, Leslie W. papers - Former Dean of the College of Education at Georgia College
- Matthew S. Davis Brown-Stetson-Sanford House Thesis Notes
- Duffy, Helen Lian photos - former Navy W.A.V.E.S. trainee at Georgia State College for women
- Eberhart Negatives - A collection, mostly related to Georgia State College for Women, of film negatives from the Eberhart Studio, which operated in Milledgeville from 1921 to the mid-1980s
- Flisch, Julia A. papers - Newspaper writer, professor, and woman's suffrage activist who pushed for the state of Georgia to found a women's college, resulting in G.N.&I.C. (today, Georgia College)
- Gardner, Floride Moore papers - Professor of Education at GCSU and child nutritionist who was daughter of Union-Recorder publisher C.L. Moore.
- Georgia Music Educators Association
- Griffin, Jr., Floyd L. papers - Career Army service member having served in Vietnam; first African-American to represent a majority white rural district in the Georgia state senate; first African-American mayor of Milledgeville; former owner of Slater's Funeral home
- Gradebooks and Other Class Materials
- Hair, William Ivy papers - Huey Long biographer, historian focused on Bourbon Democrats and Agrarianism, and former Georgia College professor
- Harris, Robin O. papers - Professor Emeritus of Government and Sociology at Georgia College
- Hines, Nelle Womack collection - Author, poet, and former Professor of Music
- Indian Spring Hotel papers - historic preservation files for the renovation of the historic Indian Spring Hotel
- Clyde E. Keeler - Medical geneticist, former Georgia State College for Women Professor of Biology
- Lane, Caro papers - GSCW alumna, physical education teacher in Georgia and Louisiana, recipient of the Golden Deeds Award, and Honorary Mayor President of Baton Rouge
- Lounsbury, John H. papers - Professor Emeritus of the John H. Lounsbury College of Education, founding member of the middle grades education movement
- Magoulick, Mary papers - GCSU English professor specializing in Native American folklore and women's studies
- Map collection - Collection of maps dating from 1500s to modern times with emphases on Southern states, particularly Georgia
- McCullar, Bernice Brown papers - Georgia State College for Women alumna, teacher, lawyer, writer, and television personality. Author of the This is Your Georgia textbook.
- Milledgeville Audubon Society Papers
- Milledgeville/Baldwin County Chapter of the AAUW (please contact Special Collections staff for further information)
- Milledgeville-Baldwin County Community Concert Association
- Milledgeville-Baldwin County Community Relations Council minutes and correspondence - Council formed in the 1970s regarding race relations and integration
- Milledgeville-Baldwin County Ministerial Association
- Milledgeville Music Club records - Records spanning from the club's beginnings in 1915, with the bulk from 1950-2013.
- Moran, Romie papers - alumna of Georgia State College for Women from the 1920s.
- Nancy Hart Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution
- Daniel Mulford - Lawyer
- Old Governor's Mansion - Collection located in Mansion; finding aid found here
- Oral Histories Guide
- Progressive Farmers Club of Baldwin County
- Russell, Mary Virginia Harrison correspondence - Alumna of Georgia State College for Women (now Georgia College) and community volunteer
- Sanford, Daniel B. correspondence - former Deputy Clerk for the State of Georgia and Clerk for the Georgia Secession Convention
- Sanford, John W.A. papers - Georgia legislator, major general in the Georgia militia, assisted in the removal of the Cherokee from Georgia in 1838-1839, commissioner to Alabama and Texas in 1861, and member of the Baldwin Blues during the Civil War
- J. Harold Saxon - Georgia educator
- Katherine Kirkwood Scott - former Georgia State College for Women Professor of English, author, and long-time Milledgeville resident
- Seckinger, Alice Jamieson - student at Georgia State College for Women in the class of 1940; became a teacher after graduation
- Sharp, India Ethelyn papers - taught at Georgia Normal & Industrial College for one year before returning to Illinois
- Sherman, David papers - former historic preservationist for Georgia DNR and U.S. DOI; collection focuses on Georgia historic sites
- Sibley, U. Erwin papers - prominent Georgia attorney and member of the Democratic Party; collection contains legal and personal files
- Small Manuscript Collection - Various items pertaining to the history of Milledgeville, Baldwin County, and Middle Georgia
- Smith, T. E. papers - former Registrar of Georgia College. Extensive research on the history of First Baptist Church, Milledgeville
- Tales From the Back Stoop - Oral histories of Milledgeville/Baldwin County residents
- Thompson, William Tappan papers - Southern humorist and founder of the Savannah Morning News.
- E. Paul Torrance - Counselor, psychologist, professor
- Trapp, Robert W. files - farmer and Justice of the Peace for Baldwin County
- Usery, W.J., Jr. collection - U.S. Secretary of Labor under Ford Administration and Assistant Secretary of Labor under Nixon Administration
- Vinson, Carl collection - U.S. Congressman from Georgia and longtime chair of the House Armed Services Committee
- Walker, Mamie/Alice Walker collection - letters between author Alice Walker and her sister, Mamie, as well as books and interviews
- Women's History and Studies Guide
- Olive Boline Wills - Georgia State College for Women alumna, former Director of Voluntary Religious Activities, teacher, and curator
- Wootten, Kathleen Wilkinson papers - former Georgia State College for Women Chair of the Health Department and nationally renowned women's health expert from the early 20th Century
