Skip to main content

Richard A. Blount Collection


The photocopies of the documents comprising the Richard A. Blount Collection were donated to the Russell Library by Mr. H. I. Bridges, Jr., of Sandersville, Georgia. Mr. Bridges became interested in Richard A. Blount because of his association with the U. S. Postal Service. Mr. Bridges requested and received reproductions of the bulk of the collection on photocopy from the Alabama Department of Archives and History. The original Richard A. Blount Collection is located at the Alabama Department of Archives and History, 624 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, Alabama 36130. In 1991, David J. Manges, Sr., an undergraduate student in the History Department of Georgia College, began a complete inventory and indexing project of the portion of the collection that was donated. At that time, the collection consisted of a large stack of photocopied pages and a very brief, vague inventory of the collection from the Alabama Department of Archives and History.

The results of the processing are two file boxes of photocopies of the original documents along with a typed text of all legible material arranged as closely as possible to the order of the original collection in the Alabama Archives. Following a biographical essay on Richard A. Blount is a general description of the scope and content of the papers, which are divided into the two file boxes. Narrative summaries of the contents of each folder are given, followed by an index of the collection.

The Richard A. Blount Collection is available to all qualified researchers. GC places no restrictions on the use of the collection; however, the copyright is held by the repository of the original collection.