Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity at Ina Dillard Russell Library: Middle Eastern Studies

Welcome

This guide serves as a starting point for students and patrons interested in Middle Eastern Studies.  It contains information on locating materials in the library's physical collections, as well as provides links to a variety of databases and online resources. 

Books

Below are some suggested subject termsWhile in the online catalog, select "subject" in the dropdown menu after the search bar and search some of the subject headings below.  The search results may include both physical books and e-books.

Arab Americans

Arab American Women

Arabic Manuscripts

Hadith

Iranian Americans

Iranian American Women

Islam

Islam History

Islamic Civilization

Islamic countries History

Islamic Fundamentalism

Islamic law

Islamophobia

Kurds

Muslim Women

Women in Islam

If you prefer to browse the stacks, below are some relevant LC call number ranges.

BP1-253                   Islam

DS35-66                   Middle East studies and history

JQ1758-1852          Middle East Political Science

PJ701-989               Literature

Internet Resources

Aljazeera: English version of the Arabic-language news network. Breaking news and features plus background material including profiles and global reactions

The American Muslim Chamber of Commerce was established in 2008 by a committed group of American Muslim business professionals and individuals in response to the pressing need to create an organization that would respond to the various needs of the growing American Muslim business community

ASMEA is an academic society dedicated to promoting the highest standards of research and teaching in Middle Eastern and African studies, and related fields.

Asnad: This database includes "public" and "private" documents: royal decrees and orders, official correspondence, and shari'a court documents, such as contracts of sale and lease, vaqf deeds, marriage contracts, and court orders.

Council on American-Islamic Relations: The mission is to enhance understanding of Islam, encourage dialogue, protect civil liberties, empower American Muslims, and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding. 

Georgia College - Bridging Cultures - Muslim Journeys: The Georgia College Library was one of only 843 libraries and humanities councils to be awarded the Bridging Cultures: Muslim Journeys bookshelf in 2013.  As part of the grant, the Library received the bookshelf itself, which included twenty-five books, three films with public performance rights, one DVD with seven video essays about Islamic art and architecture

Georgia College - Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity provides institutional leadership on all matters of diversity and inclusion, working under the Division of Academic Affairs.

The Islamic Society of North America has served the Muslims of North America for well over forty years. During this period ISNA has provided many invaluable services to the Muslim community of North America.

Middle East Media Research Institute: Exploring the Middle East and South Asia through their media, MEMRI bridges the language gap between the West and the Middle East and South Asia, providing timely translations of Arabic, Farsi, Urdu-Pashtu, Dari, and Turkish media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends.

RAND Center for Middle East Public Policy: Through research and analysis, CMEPP helps public and private decision makers solve problems, tackle challenges, and identify ways to make society safer, smarter, and more prosperous.

Databases

If you are off campus and need the Galileo password, please follow these instructions.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Art Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

The Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

JSTOR is a collection of electronic journals in the fields of: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

Project Muse is a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.

ProQuest Databases provides the option to search the ProQuest databases available to your institution individually or simultaneously.