Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity at Ina Dillard Russell Library: Native American Studies

Welcome

This guide serves as a starting point for students and patrons interested in Native American Studies. It contains information on locating materials in the library's physical collections, as well as provides links to a variety of databases and online resources. 

Books

Below are some suggested subject termsWhile in the online catalog, select "subject" in the dropdown menu after the search bar and search some of the subject headings below.  The search results may include both physical books and e-books.

Eskimos, See also Inuit

Indians of North America

Indians of North America--state name (e.g. Indians of North America--Georgia)

Indians of North America--Folklore

Indians of North America--History

Indians of North America--Languages

Indians of North America--Legal status, laws, etc.

Indian literature--History and criticism

Indian reservations--United States

Indians, Treatment of--United States

 

If you prefer to browse the stacks, the University of Saskatchewan Library has a created a detailed document listing LC call number ranges for Native American Studies:

University of Saskatchewan Library: Call Number Ranges for North American Aboriginal People

Internet Resources

American Indian and Alaska Native Resources - U.S. Census Bureau: The Census Bureau collects data for the American Indian and Alaska Native population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics at many geographic levels. The Tribal Resource website highlights the Census Bureau's relationship with tribal governments and provides important AIAN and tribal resources.

American Indian Heritage Teaching Resources: List of resources provided by the Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access.

Bureau of Indian Affairs: Offers an extensive scope of programs that covers the entire range of Federal, State and local government services.

National Congress of American Indians: The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.

Native American Authors: Provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites.

Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project: A cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library, and Native American tribes providing access to the constitutions, tribal codes, and other legal documents.

New Georgia Encyclopedia: The first state encyclopedia to be conceived and designed exclusively for publication online. This authoritative resource contains original content and helps users understand the rich history and diverse culture of Georgia's still-unfolding story.

Online Resources - American Indian Library Association: An affiliate of the American Library Association, the American Indian Library Association is a membership action group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives.  This site provides a comprehensive list of online American Indian resources.

Databases

If you are off campus and need the Galileo password, please follow these instructions.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.

American Memory from the Library of Congress is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

Annals of American History includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism. This resource also has multimedia files, including hundreds of images and video and audio clips of famous speeches.

Art Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

The Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

Digital Library of Georgia: A gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.  Collections such as Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842 are included.

Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.

JSTOR is a collection of electronic journals in the fields of: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

Project Muse is a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.

ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Sociological Collection includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842 contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H.McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian.