Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity at Ina Dillard Russell Library: Hispanic Studies

Welcome

This guide serves as a starting point for students and patrons interested in Hispanic Studies.  It contains information on locating materials in the library's physical collections, as well as provides links to a variety of databases and online resources. 

Books

Below are some suggested subject termsWhile in the online catalog, select "subject" in the dropdown menu after the search bar and search some of the subject headings below.  The search results may include both physical books and e-books.

American drama - Hispanic American authors

American drama - Mexican American authors

American literature - Hispanic American authors 

American literature - Mexican American authors

Cuban Americans

Dominican Americans

Hispanic Americans

Hispanic Americans - History

Hispanic Americans - Politics and government

Mexican Americans

Mexican Americans - History

Mexican Americans - Politics and government

Nicaraguan Americans

Peruvian Americans

If you prefer to browse the stacks, Columbia University Libraries has a created a detailed document listing LC call number ranges for Latin American Studies:

Columbia University Libraries: Call Number Ranges for Latin American Studies 

Internet Resources

Biblioteca Americana - Biographical information and digital texts of significant Latin American authors, from the Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes.

Georgia College - Latino Student Association: The purpose of the LSA is to bring Latino-Hispanic students, students of color, and other students attending Georgia College together in an organized manner to provide activities that will enhance their personal development, social growth, educational experience, and cultural understanding of Latino students and their culture at Georgia College.

Hispanic Resources - U.S. Department of the Interior:  Comprehensive list of resources compiled by the U.S. Department of the Interior's Office of Civil Rights.

Latin American Network Information Center: A part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.  The mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.

Library of Congress: Hispanic Reading Room: Serves as the primary access point for research relating to those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.

National Alliance for Hispanic Health: Organization focused on improving the health and well being of Hispanics.

National Council of La Raza: The largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States—works to improve opportunities for Hispanic Americans - See more at: http://www.nclr.org/index.php/about_us/#sthash.8DotbTcS.dpuf

National Hispanic American Heritage Month: The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.

Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier Home: A Library of Congress bilingual site featuring maps, rare books, manuscripts, prints and photographs, and motion pictures relating to Spanish influence and interaction with other cultures existing in the geographic areas of North America, the Caribbean, and present-day Mexico between 1492-1898.

Pew Research Center - Hispanic Trends: A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

Primeros Libros - Online collection of the first printed books in Mexico before 1601 from the Lozano Long Institute.

The Smithsonian Latino Center was created in 1997 to promote Latino presence within the Smithsonian. The Center is not represented in one physical location; rather, it works collaboratively with the Institution's museums and research centers, ensuring that the contributions of the Latino community in the arts, history, national culture and scientific achievement are explored, presented, celebrated and preserved.

Databases

If you are off campus and need the Galileo password, please follow these instructions.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

American Memory from the Library of Congress is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

Annals of American History includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism. This resource also has multimedia files, including hundreds of images and video and audio clips of famous speeches.

Art Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

The Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. It includes full text for more than 650 publications from 18 countries.

Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

JSTOR is a collection of electronic journals in the fields of: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

MedicLatina provides access to the full text for more than 140 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States includes authoritative articles exploring the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

Project Muse is a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.

ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.