Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity at Ina Dillard Russell Library: Asian Studies

Welcome

This guide serves as a starting point for students and patrons interested in Asian Studies.  It contains information on locating materials in the library's physical collections, as well as provides links to a variety of databases and online resources. 

Books

Below are some suggested subject termsWhile in the online catalog, select "subject" in the dropdown menu after the search bar and search some of the subject headings below.  The search results may include both physical books and e-books.

Asian Americans

Asian Americans--History

Asian Americans in literature

American fiction--Asain American authors--history and criticism

Chinese Americans

Chinese Americans Social conditions

Filipino Americans

Japanese Americans

Japanese Americans--Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945

Korean Americans

Koreans United States

Orientalism

Pacific Islander Americans

Vietnamese Americans

Vietnamese--United States

If you prefer to browse the stacks, below are some relevant LC call number ranges.

DS1-937                   Asia

PL1-3207                 Asian Literature

Internet Resources

Asian-Nation: An authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community

Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies is a national non-partisan, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting Asian Pacific American participation and representation at all levels of the political process, from community service to elected office.

The Association for Asian American Studies was founded in 1979 for the purpose of advancing the highest professional standard of excellence in teaching and research in the field of Asian American Studies

Carter Center - China Program: Dedicated to preserving this and advancing U.S.-China relations by building synergy between China and the United States.  The website includes a list of valuable online resources.

Chinese Cultural Studies: Bibliographical Guide: This site includes an extensive list of references of works available in English. There are links to texts, bibliographies, other web pages

Georgia College - Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity provides institutional leadership on all matters of diversity and inclusion, working under the Division of Academic Affairs.

Japan Times: The latest news and features from Japan, including business, politics, commentary culture, life & style, entertainment and sports.

Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives is a digital "thematic collection" within the California Digital Library's Online Archive of California documenting the experience of Japanese Americans in World War II internment camps.

South Asian American Digital Archive is an independent national non-profit organization working to create a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.

Databases

If you are off campus and need the Galileo password, please follow these instructions.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

American Memory from the Library of Congress is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

Annals of American History includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism. This resource also has multimedia files, including hundreds of images and video and audio clips of famous speeches.

Art Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

Asian Business and Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.

The Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

JSTOR is a collection of electronic journals in the fields of: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

Project Muse is a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.

ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.