Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity at Ina Dillard Russell Library: Women's Studies

Welcome

This guide serves as a starting point for students and patrons interested in Women's Studies.  It contains information on locating materials in the library's physical collections, as well as provides links to a variety of databases and online resources. 

Books

Below are some suggested subject termsWhile in the online catalog, select "subject" in the dropdown menu after the search bar and search some of the subject headings below.  The search results may include both physical books and e-books.

Females
Feminism
Feminist theory
Feminism - United States
Feminism and higher education
Women
Women and Literature
Women authors, American
Women scientists
Women social reformers
Women – civil rights
Women – legal status, laws, etc.
Women – suffrage
Women’s Rights
Women’s Studies

 

If you prefer to browse the stacks, below are some relevant LC call number ranges.

HQ1100        Women, Feminism

HQ1180        Women's Studies

HQ1190        Feminist Theory

Internet Resources

American Association of University Women: The nation’s leading voice promoting equity and education for women and girls.

American Women Through Time: This site offers two approaches for the study of specific time periods in American women's history, the timeline and research sources.

American Women - Library of Congress: A gateway for Library of Congress researchers working in the field of American women's history.

Discovering American Women's History Online: This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Georgia College - Women's Center: A place where anyone can come and find out about gender issues. We are here because we believe women should be able to live life free from fear of partner violence, sexual assault, and sexual harassment. We believe women should be paid equitably, enjoy healthy self-esteem and have confidence that comes from within. If that sounds like something you believe in, then the Women's Center is for you!

Importance of Women & Girls in Sports: Research has shown that media coverage of women's sports still lags behind men's and that female sports journalists face discrimination in the workplace. This site offers a comprehensive list of sites related to female athletes and issues regarding women in sports.

The National Women’s History Project recognizes and celebrates the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing informational services and educational and promotional materials.

Ted Talks - Women: A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of women

Women's Issues Resource Sites is a selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program.

Women's Speeches From Around the World: A non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.

Women's Studies Online Resources will help you find information-rich, high-quality web sites focusing on women's studies or women's issues.

Databases

If you are off campus and need the Galileo password, please follow these instructions.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

American Memory from the Library of Congress is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

American Women: The site contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States. The guide has been redesigned for online use, with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site.

Annals of American History includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism. This resource also has multimedia files, including hundreds of images and video and audio clips of famous speeches.

Art Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

The Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

For Our Mutual Benefit consists of two minute books, covering the years 1899-1920, from the Athens Woman's Club collection housed in the Heritage Room of the Athens-Clarke County Library.

JSTOR is a collection of electronic journals in the fields of: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History: Over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.

Project Muse is a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.

ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.