Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity at Ina Dillard Russell Library: LGBTQ Studies

Welcome

This guide serves as a starting point for students and patrons interested in LGBTQ Studies.  It contains information on locating materials in the library's physical collections, as well as provides links to a variety of databases and online resources.  This guide also provides links to campus, regional, and national resources that provide guidance and support for LGBTQ students. 

Books

Below are some suggested subject termsWhile in the online catalog, select "subject" in the dropdown menu after the search bar and search some of the subject headings below.  The search results may include both physical books and e-books.

Bisexuals
Gays
Gender Identity
Homophobia
Homosexuality
Lesbians
Queer Theory
Transgender People

 

If you prefer to browse the stacks, below are some relevant LC call number ranges.

HQ74

      Bisexuality

HQ75-HQ76.8 

      Gay men & lesbians

HQ77

      Transgender, transsexuality

HQ1033-1034

      Same-sex Marriage

KF4754.5

      Gay rights

Internet Resources

ACLU - LGBTQ Rights: The ACLU has a long history of defending the LGBT community.

Campus Pride serves LGBTQ and ally student leaders and campus organizations in the areas of leadership development, support programs and services to create safer, more inclusive LGBTQ-friendly colleges and universities.

Georgia College - Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity provides institutional leadership on all matters of diversity and inclusion, working under the Division of Academic Affairs.

Georgia College - Pride Alliance: Pride Alliance was formed to provide an open, diverse, and supportive environment for gay/lesbian/bi-sexual/transgender/straight people on our campus who want to promote tolerance, understanding, and equality at Georgia College.

Georgia College - Safe Space: Safe Space is a Georgia College campuswide initiative that offers a visible message of inclusion, acceptance and support to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT’*) individuals. GC's goal is to have all LGBT’ identified members of the campus community feel comfortable so they can work and learn at their highest level without concern of safety or discrimination.  

GLAAD rewrites the script of LGBT acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialouge that leads to cultural change.

The It Gets Better Project's mission is to communicate to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender youth around the world that it gets better, and to create and inspire the changes needed to make it better for them.

Library of Congress - LGBTQ Pride Month: The Law Library of Congress has compiled guides to commemorative observations, including a comprehensive inventory of the Public Laws, Presidential Proclamations and congressional resolutions related to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month Pride.

PFLAG Founded in 1972 with the simple act of a mother publicly supporting her gay son, PFLAG is the nation's largest family and ally organization. Uniting LGBTQ people with families, friends, and allies, PFLAG is committed to advancing equality and full societal affirmation of LGBTQ people through its threefold mission of support, education, and advocacy.

People with a History: An Outline Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans History:  This site presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people.  It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.

ProjectKnow, LGBT: ProjectKnow.com aims to inform parents and family members of those struggling with addiction, as well as addicts and alcoholics themselves, about the options available for treating addiction.

Databases

If you are off campus and need the Galileo password, please follow these instructions.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Art Full Text: More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text rounds out the research experience for those studying other fields, such as women’s, LGBTQ, media or cultural studies, history and other related areas of study.

Annals of American History includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism. This resource also has multimedia files, including hundreds of images and video and audio clips of famous speeches.

The Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.  All Census Bureau demographic surveys collect information about same sex couples. The level of detail collected varies, as well as the availability of other characteristics of the partners.

Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

JSTOR is a collection of electronic journals in the fields of: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.

LexisNexis Academic contains thousands of publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers, legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications, law reviews, and reference works.

Project Muse is a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.

ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.

ProQuest Psychology Journals provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1,000 titles. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.

PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 24,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,500 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Sociological Collection includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

U.S. Legal Reference contains thousands of publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers, legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications, law reviews, and reference works

Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma, and Violence & Abuse.

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 13,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.