Search more than 197 years of Georgia history with the Macon Telegraph Collection. Coverage from 1860 through current. Explore current and archived issues of the Macon Telegraph with full-color newspapers pages and individual articles, as well as content only published online.
Launched just three years after the city of Macon was incorporated, the Macon Telegraph provides an inside view into the initial years of the city's growth. Macon's central location within the state provided the paper with a unique perspective of the news through a period when middle Georgia was both geographically and politically a focal point of the state. During the early publication of the newspaper, Macon and its surrounding areas were guided politically, economically, and racially by the growth of cotton. Through that lens the paper provides historical insight into the development of the state during the sectionalism of the antebellum period, the devastation of the Civil War, and the rise of the "New South" in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to three newspaper titles published in Savannah from 1809 to 1880. Consisting of over 83,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. The website includes the following Savannah newspaper titles: Savannah Georgian (1819-1856) Savannah Morning News (1868-1880) Savannah Republican (1809-1868)
" This is 'you are there' history at its best... [ Reporting the Revolutionary War ] lets us see and feel how events unfolded for the people who lived them."
"The Tyranny of Printers narrates the rise of this newspaper-based politics, in which editors became the chief party spokesmen and newspaper offices often served as local party headquarters."
Drawn from the contents of seventy-four hundred newspapers, this book is a comprehensive discussion of the news that ran from the beginning of American newspapers in 1690 through the end of the period. The book reveals that the first generation of American papers focused on more than European news and governmental decrees and actions.
For every major event or issue of the colonial period, newspapers printed the opinions of the day, in many cases attempting to influence public opinion. Issues such as medical discoveries, education, and censorship are covered in this collection along with important events such as the French and Indian War, the trial of John Peter Zenger, and the Boston Massacre.
At the beginning of this spirited and engaging cultural history, Douglas (communication studies, U. of Michigan, Ann Arbor) refers to Erik Barnouw's three-volume History of Broadcasting in the United States (published between 1966 and 1970); she covers much of the same ground only quicker (one volume) and points out that each chapter could have bee
Reporting the Revolutionary War by 
The Tyranny of Printers by 
Colonial American Newspapers by 
Debating the Issues in Colonial Newspapers by 
American journalism; a history of newspapers in the United States through 260 years: 1690 to 1950. by 
Listening In by