Library: MSCM 3301: History of American Journalism: Newspapers

Newspapers in GALILEO

Search GALILEO for Newspapers online.

Suggested starting points:

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.
The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Coverage Dates: 1995 - present (full text); 1985 - present (abstracting and indexing)
Update Frequency: Daily
Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia's Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use.
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times 1851-2013.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Georgia Newspapers Available in our Library

Macon, Georgia Newspapers

These titles are collectively filed as Georgia Journal & Messenger

*Georgia Messenger 12 November 1823 - 8 April 1847
Macon Telegraph 1 November 1826 - 25 September 1832
Macon Georgia Telegraph 7 January 1836 - 25 June 1844
Georgia Telegraph 3 October 1832 - 31 December 1835
Georgia Telegraph 2 July 1844 - 14 September 1858
*Georgia Journal and Messenger 15 April 1847 - 13 November 1869
Weekly Georgia Telegraph 21 September 1858 - 1869

*Rocker, Willard R. Marriages and Obituaries from the Macon Messenger 1818 – 1865 (Call number: Ref F285. R63 1988) indexes notices found in these papers.

Atlanta, Georgia Newspapers

Atlanta Constitution June 17, 1868 to November 4, 2001
Atlanta Journal 1940-1994

The print Atlanta Journal/Constitution Index 1971-1994 is available in Reference. Online indexing for the Atlanta newspapers is available via Newspaper Source

Augusta, Georgia Newspaper Indexing

Personal Name Index to the Augusta Chronicle, 1786-1830( Ref F294 .W25 1987) provides information about early settlers who populated the Augusta region. Microfilm of the newspaper may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan at no charge to GC students, faculty and staff.

Other Georgia Newspapers Available on Microfilm

Carroll Free Press (Carrollton, Georgia) November 23, 1883 - July 27, 1948
Georgia Gazette (Savannah, Georgia) April 7, 1763-May 23, 1770

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.
The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Coverage Dates: 1995 - present (full text); 1985 - present (abstracting and indexing)
Update Frequency: Daily

Historic Newspapers

Black Abolitionist Archives: Newspapers
Newspaper clippings from a variety of publications. Selected articles only.
Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)
"The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries."
CIVIL WAR NEWSPAPERS
"The following files of transcribed articles from Civil War era newspapers are predominantly from the South, and focus on the homefront, including women, Confederate industry, and material culture. The scattered military articles usually relate either to camp life or to Texas units or events. These articles do NOT include foreign affairs, politics, monetary policy, or general battle accounts."
DigiNole: Historical Newspapers 17th-20th centuries
"This collection holds newspaper issues from various titles from a period of the 17th century to the 20th century. The majority of the collection is focused on newspapers from the American southeast"
Friend of Man from Cornell
(The Friend of Man, is now available online to scholars worldwide, thanks to Cornell University Library. Published by J.F. Bishop in Utica, N.Y., the newspaper documents the early anti-slavery movement in upstate New York.)
Google Newspaper Digitization Project
"Google has decided to end its newspaper digitization project. Existing content, about 60 million pages from 2,000 newspapers, will remain available, but no new content will be added."
Library of Congress: Historic Newspapers
Attention: "The New York Sun" & "Herald"
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. "
The NYS Historic Newspapers project
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. To search the entire collection, use the Search Tab. Or, click on a county to search or browse geographically.
The Playground: Walt Whitman
Brooklyn Eagle
William Lloyd Garrison’s, The Liberator.
New York Herald
The New York Sun: (1916-1920)
New York Journal 1896-1899
Lewis & Clark Digital Collections: The Revolution Newspaper (215 Total)

Suffrage/Women's Rights Newspapers

The Revolution
Founded by women's rights activists Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton in New York City, its first issue was published on January 8, 1868