There are multiple ways to log in to GALILEO when you are either not in the Library or off campus:
Unify
Go to unify.gcsu.edu and sign in with your credentials. A link to GALILEO is available on the "Start Here" tab. This should take you directly to GALILEO (you may be prompted for your Unify credentials again).
GALILEO password
If you are prompted for a password, access your library account at gilfind.gcsu.edu. Select the link at the right of the page that says "Sign in." After entering your Unify credentials, this will take you to your main account information page that will display the GALILEO password. You will then have to navigate to the GALILEO homepage in order to log in with the password.
Key databases
Russell Library has multiple subscriptions to databases that are specifically relevant to nursing. Once you've done your initial searches in Discover, it can be a good idea to vary your search by database.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers.
MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE with Full Text combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. MEDLINE with Full Text includes over 500 titles not included in Academic Search Complete.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Topics in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source include:
• Cytology
• Nursing
• Nutrition
• Oncology
• Pediatric Care
• Pharmacology
• Public Health
• Radiology
This database also includes leading nursing and related publications, such as:
• Association of Operating Room Nurses. AORN Journal
• Journal of Nursing Scholarship
• Oncology Nursing Forum
• Journal of Gerontological Nursing
• Journal of Psychosocial Nursing & Mental Health Services
• Critical Care Nurse
• Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
• Physical Therapy
• Journal of Athletic Training
• Journal of Rehabilitation
• The Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy
• Journal of Allied Health
• Applied Radiology
• Clinical Laboratory Science
• Dental Assistant
• Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source also provides evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). These include Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets. The JBI's evidence-based approach opens a new world of education resources, with critical appraisal and meta-analysis that is highly respected and unquestioned in the field.
In addition, study paths are provided to find key topics and recommended reading. The curriculum-based topic tree connects users to appropriate articles on specific topics. A board of experienced nurse educators have hand-selected the most relevant results for a wide range of subjects.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowFind resources in evidence-based medicine
Includes access to six databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), the Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and the Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR).
SPORTDiscus with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Although many of the titles are also included in Academic Search Complete, there are several titles unique to SPORTDiscus with Full Text.
Tables of contents, indexing, and abstracts for 460 journals. Georgia College's Russell Library subscribes to the LWW Nursing and Health Professionals (LNHP) Premier Collection, including full text access to over 75 top nursing journals.
The Discover search is a great place to start. However, you will later want to search some additional databases to ensure that you had adequate research coverage for your topic and so that you see the best research on your topic and not just what's immediately available.
