Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Collections and Materials in Special Collections: 19th Century

University Vertical Files

Below are samples of some of the University Vertical Files, a direct link can be found at the bottom.

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County)  

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – Letters received (Sep 1865-Jul 1867) 

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – Letters sent (Aug 1867-Feb 1868) 

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – Miscellaneous lists and memoranda (1865-1870) 

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – School Reports from teachers (Oct 1865-Aug 1867) 

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – School Reports from teachers (Sep 1867-May 1868) 

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – School Reports from teachers (Jun-Dec 1868) 

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – School Reports from teachers (Jan-Apr 1869) 

Freedmen's Bureau (Baldwin County) – Records of the Supt. of Education – School Reports from teachers (Apr-Jul 1870) 

Slavery

This section includes primary source documents consisting of written manuscripts and various rare books from the period. Visit the small manuscript box list by clicking on a sample or use the direct link located at the bottom the box.

Religion

From Special Collections' Rare Books Collection.

Post Civil War-Emancipation

Books from the Rare Books Collection concerning African American life after Emancipation. Click one of the sample books to be directed to the GIL database.

Subject Guide

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
478-445-0988

Need Help?
Website