Library: Government Information: Additional Government Resources

Suggested Government Sites

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
American Memory
Provides free online access to digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress.
Catalog of U.S. Gov. Publications
"The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. "
Country Studies
"Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world."
Government Accountability Office
"The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars."
Uniform Crime Reports
Crime Reports - United States
United States Government Manual
"As the official handbook of the Federal Government, The United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees."

Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is an online database containing a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is a continuation of the iconic print version published by the federal government from 1878 to 2012.

As on online database, the ProQuest version is able to include some special features. When you find a statistical table, it can be viewed as is like those in the older print versions. It can also be viewed as an Excel file that can be downloaded and modified to better fit the users needs. And in some cases, the entries in the Excel version may include a wider range of dates.

For more information, go to the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States website. or click here to go directly to the site.