Government Information

allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available.

This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books.

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) Annual Observations in Table and Graphical Format 1790 to the Present.

Tables on Population in Medieval Europe

The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.

The Avalon Project, based out of Yale, has the full text of documents as diverse as the Code of Hammurabi, the Magna Carta, and the charter granted to Christopher Columbus to explore what would be known as the New World.

American Factfinder is the main gateway to information from the Decennial Census, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey. Enter your zip code to get a quick report of your local area or look at more detailed data. You can also create thematic maps of the data.

The AHS is sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The survey is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States.

is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.

As a priority Open Government Initiative for President Obama's administration, Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.

conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.

is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

a rich source of information about America's health.

is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is available here through GALILEO. Community users can come to the Russell Library or access it through public or school libraries or using their passwords. For more information on using this database, go to the Statistical Abstract Guide. Previous versions of Statistical Abstract are also available in print in the circulating collection with the call number HA 202 .S797 These books cover most years between 1930 and 2012.

the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Your key to European statistics.

is a non-profit venture – a modern “museum” on the Internet – promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals.

IMF reports and publications arranged by country.

provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.