Special Collections: Home

Holly Croft
Associate Director for Special Collections and Galleries/University Archivist,
Associate Professor of Library Science
holly.croft@gcsu.edu
478-445-0988

• A.B., English, University of Georgia
• M.S.L.S., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Evan Leavitt
Archivist,
Assistant Professor of Library Science
evan.leavitt@gcsu.edu
478-445-5093

• B.A., Anthropology, Georgia Southern University
• B.A., History, Georgia Southern University
• M.L.I.S., The University of Alabama

Jordyn Street
Archival Assistant
jordyn.street@gcsu.edu

• B.A. History, Georgia College & State University
• Current M.A. Museum Studies student, University of Oklahoma

Special Collections houses University Archives, the Flannery O'Connor papers, the Paul D. Coverdell papers, the Carl Vinson papers, the Floyd L. Griffin, Jr. papers, the W. J. Usery papers, the Mamie Walker/Alice Walker papers, and other manuscript collections, as well as, various rare books, photographs, oral histories, memorabilia, etc., documenting Milledgeville/Baldwin County, the Middle Georgia Region, and the citizens and organizations of our diverse communities. 

University Archives

Manuscripts Collections

African American Collections

Flannery O'Connor Collection

The Knowledge Box repository is a service of the Georgia College library. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.

For more information, see the Knowledge Box guide.

For questions, please see the FAQ or contact the repository administrator.

Special Collections offers physical and digital exhibits to highlight and contextualize holdings across collections. Exhibits are free and open to the public. Please note that exhibits in the Special Collections Galleries and the Rare Book Room are available for viewing during the hours Special Collections is open to the public (Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.), while other physical exhibits are accessible whenever the library building is open. Digital exhibits are freely accessible at all times. 

Visit our exhibits guide to learn more.

Our digital exhibts may also be viewed at specialcollectionsgalleries.gcsu.edu

This timeline was created by Rosalie Bodkin for her senior capstone project and adapted by Web Strategy in University Communications. 

Reference Services
Researchers who are unable to visit Special Collections may submit inquiries via standard mail, telephone, or email. Special Collections staff will be able to spend a limited amount of time researching your question. Staff may also be able to refer researchers to other resources on and off campus. However, our small staff can not undertake extensive research.

Guidelines for Using Special Collections
All Researchers are required to fill out a researchers application when visiting Special Collections. Before your visit, please review and  be aware of our Policies Governing Use of Special Collections Materials and the Policies for the Use of the Flannery O'Connor Collection.

Reproductions and Permissions

TBD

Preferred Citation 
Researchers are requested to use the preferred citation that designates Special Collections, Georgia College & State University Library as the repository for any material used in a published work. We request that citations use the following format:

Collection Name, Special Collections, Ina Dillard Russell Library, Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville, GA.