Library: Rhetoric Guide: Home

Library Databases

To access online resources from off-campus, you will need Unify login credentials

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media.
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 460 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 660 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 350 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core"). In addition, CMMC features over 5,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Full text of the New York Times 1851-2013. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Research Library is a multidisciplinary resource that features scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers across a variety of subjects with access to thousands of titles, including many full-text articles. Coverage Dates: 1971 to present
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric This link opens in a new window Reference articles on all aspects of rhetoric
Provides a comprehensive survey of research — as well as the foundational teachings in this broad field. It includes 150 original, signed articles by leading scholars dealing with all aspects of rhetoric.

Rhetoric Academic Journals

Rhetoric-related websites

Silva Rhetoricæ
This online rhetoric, provided by Dr. Gideon Burton of Brigham Young University, is a guide to the terms of classical and renaissance rhetoric.
American Rhetoric
This website aims to advance understanding of political, social, and religious issues as they relate to the study and practice of the art of rhetoric and public address, and as deemed relevant to the public interest and enlightened civic discourse.
Independent Voices
An open access collection of alternative press
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Rhetoric 101: The art of persuasive speech
From the Ted Ed Blog, Camille A. Langston describes the fundamentals of deliberative rhetoric and shares some tips for appealing to an audience’s ethos, logos, and pathos in your next speech

Access your Free New York Times Subscription

New York Times
by Jonathan Harwell Last Updated Jan 31, 2023 197 views this year

Further detailed instructions can be found here.

Step 1: Open a browser and go to http://accessnyt.com

Step 2: Type in Georgia College and select "Georgia College and State University - Milledgeville, GA"

Step 3: Create your account using your @gcsu.edu or @bobcats.gcsu.edu email address and choose a personal password. If you do not wish to receive updates and special offers, uncheck that box. Click "sign up"

Step 4: Check your campus email for the confirmation email you will receive shortly. Click the link to verify your account.

Step 5: Login to nyt.com and start exploring

Step 7: Download a free mobile NYT app for your IOS or Android devices from http://www.nytimes.com/services/mobile/index.html

Optional step 8: Once you have your digital subscription access to the NYT you can also register to receive the New York Times in Education subscription by registering at http://nytimesineducation.com/register/ which provides the following features: Discipline-specific areas of study, Classroom discussion prompts, Suggested learning outcomes, General Instructional Strategies to promote student achievement, and Co-Curricular Activities, including events, discussions, and contests

Rhetoric Guide

Ask Me

Creative Common License Code

Library Databases

Rhetoric Academic Journals

Rhetoric-related websites

Access your Free New York Times Subscription