The Ina Dillard Russell Library receives support from a number of endowed funds, through the Georgia College & State University Foundation, Inc. These funds support a variety of initiatives and resources, as noted here, and are vital supplements to the funding received through the university's state budget. GCSU Foundation provides details on how to give at https://www.gcsu.edu/foundation.
To consult about potential endowed funds, donors are invited to contact Ms. Haleigh Purser, Development Officer for University Initiatives, in University Advancement. She may be reached at haleigh.purser@gcsu.edu or 478-445-8553.
As noted in Connection Magazine in Summer 2015, the Ina Dillard Russell Library has "been supported by the Watson-Brown Foundation through the largest endowment the college has ever seen. This gift has allowed the library to offer distinct resources and services over the years." This fund was established "to enhance the current Ina Dillard Russell Library collection and to purchase additional book volumes, periodicals, audio/visual media, museum exhibits, computers and other necessary library equipment." Notes on the history and the legacy of the Watson-Brown Foundation are available here. Some examples of the many resources supported by this fund are available here.
This account was established in 2008. These books are purchased in honor of Mary Redding Holsenbeck, a 1940 graduate, by her son, Howard Holsenbeck, a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. At least 25% of the income from the fund is used to purchase books from UNC Press. Examples of books purchased with this fund are available here.
This fund was established in 1921 and originally funded a collection of travel books. More recent books purchased with this fund include the following:
Bonnett, Alastair. Beyond the Map : Unruly Enclaves, Ghostly Places, Emerging Lands and Our Search for New Utopias. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2018. https://galileo-gcsu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01GALI_GCSU/1l19fcm/alma997593443802944
Dorren, Gaston. Babel : Around the World in Twenty Languages. First Grove Atlantic hardcover edition. New York: Atlantic Monthly Press, 2018. https://galileo-gcsu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01GALI_GCSU/1l19fcm/alma997593443602944
Hoyland, Robert G., and H. G. M. Williamson, eds. The Oxford Illustrated History of the Holy Land. First edition. Oxford, United Kingdom: Oxford University Press, 2018. https://galileo-gcsu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01GALI_GCSU/1l19fcm/alma997593443702944
This fund was established to purchase technology for the library. Anne Harman was an Associate Professor of Library Media at Georgia College, holding degrees from Lagrange College and Florida State University.
The Anne Louise Harman Experimental Technology Room provides access to resources to assist in preparation for class presentations and our emerging technologies. We offer a large touchscreen display for interactive and collaborative study, a motion-detecting camera and podium for recording speeches and presentations, and the Oculus Rift and Oculus 2, available for checkout, that offer applications to support your studies!
This fund was established by the Atlanta Alumni Club of Georgia College to provide scholarships for students.
This fund supports the Flannery O'Connor Collection with Russell Library's Special Collections. For details on this collection, please visit https://libguides.gcsu.edu/oconnor-collection
This fund supports the purchase of books and periodicals relevant to family sociology. Professor Herbert Massey, a former Baptist minister, taught sociology at Georgia State College for Women (now Georgia College), and was known for his course on the family. Examples of resources supported by this fund are available here.
This fund was established for the purpose of supporting the Clarke Street Library Entrance restoration project.
This fund was established to purchase Georgia materials for the College library, and to encourage scholarships among history majors. Examples of books purchased with this fund are available here.
Details about Professor Bonner and his papers are available at https://libguides.gcsu.edu/bonner-papers
Items authored by Professor Bonner within the library collection are available here.
This account was established "to support library service excellence," with funds resulting from a bequest gift of $50,000 from the Katherine A. Kent estate.
A native of Tifton, Georgia, Katherine A. Kent received an A.B. in English and history from Georgia State College for Women (now Georgia College) in 1950. Her main interests were world literature and international relations.
This account was established in 2005 for the purpose of providing support for the Ina Dillard Russell Library Building, "no matter what university functions are there now or in the future." The funds are to be used for the building first, if needed, and if not, for any other appropriate purpose under the endowment. A brief biography of Mrs. Russell Peterson is available here.
This fund supports the W.J. "Bill" Usery Jr. Leadership Gallery in the Ina Dillard Russell Library. Details on Secretary Usery and The W.J. Usery, Jr. Collection are available here.
The GCSU Alumni Association established this fund to support books and shelving in the Ina Dillard Russell Library, in honor of Willie Sue Roberts of Social Circle, Georgia, a 1930 alumna of Georgia State College for Women (now Georgia College).
Additional endowed funds for special purposes include the Russell Library Special Collections Fund, the Russell Library Studios Fund, and the Russell Library Technology Fund.
Support the Ina Dillard Russell Library
Gifts to the library support the learning and research needs of the entire Georgia College Community.
Please click here if you're interested in making a gift:
https://www.gcsu.edu/foundation
Thank you for your support!