Skip to main content

Russell Library Collections Wishlist: Journal Backfiles, Primary Resources, and Magazine Archives

Making Way for Expanded Special Collections

Russell Library's Special Collections documents the history and culture of the city of Milledgeville, Baldwin County, and surrounding counties.   The lives and experiences of the area's diverse communities are represented in these collections.  As Special Collections seeks to preserve additional unique and culturally significant community resources, space requirements increase to house these archival collections, to provide study and research areas for fragile documents, to support staff work, to mount exhibits, and to digitize materials.

Resources in the Periodicals Room, primarily print or microformat newspapers, magazines, and journals, are seldom used by students or faculty.  These resources still contain important and useful information, but the formats are not conducive for discovery as it is practiced in the modern library.  Your help with funding to purchase online replacements for these these print and microform titles will help us twice. Once to help us make room for the rich and unique resources that are being actively curated by Georgia College Archivists, but also to provide improved access to research articles, essays, short stories, and daily news and opinion pieces from the last century and beyond.

Health Sciences Backfiles

The JAMA Network Backfiles purchase would include every issue of the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) and specialty journals dating back to the first issue of JAMA in 1883 through 1997 for most continuing titles.

New England Journal of Medicine full archive contains the back issues from 1812 through 1989.  The gift of continuing funds to allow the library a site license for 1990 through current issues would have the additional benefit of waiving the archive's annual maintenance fee.

LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection Archive (2012 Version) would provide seamless access back to volume 1 for the titles held in the library's current OVID nursing journals package.

Chemistry & Physics Journals Backfiles

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)

PROLA provides immediate access to the APS journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal. A subscription to PROLA gives access to all journal content, except for the current year and the preceding three years.

The RSC Journals Archive gives researchers access to more than 166 years of chemistry research and contains all articles published by the Royal Society of Chemistry (and its forerunner societies) from 1841 to 2007.

Newspapers

Purchase of the Wall Street Journal and the Christian Science Monitor historical newspapers from ProQuest would significantly reduce the number of reels of microfilm remaining in the library's collections.  The library has already purchased the New York Times, Washington Post, and the Atlanta Constitution historical newspapers, and students are once again making use of these valuable resources. 

While the Library does not have holdings of the Macon Telegraph, it has held a current subscription to the regional newspaper for decades.  Over the years, the Telegraph has published many stories about the people and events in both Milledgeville and Baldwin County.  Individuals may search the Macon Telegraph at: https://macon.newsbank.com/

Subject Backfiles from Publishers

Leading publishers such as Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, Springer Nature, and others offer full collection as well as discipline specific backfiles.  The library and Georgia College students and faculty would benefit from access to a purchase of this type.  While many disciplines focus on current research, seminal papers, foundational theories, and writings by leading researchers appear in journal back issues.  Perpetual, unlimited online access to these articles also allows them to be used as course readings, providing significant savings for students and their families.

EBSCO Magazine Archives

Providing funding to purchase more than one magazine archive from EBSCO results in additional savings, not only in the purchase price, but also in the annual access fee.

The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought.

Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive is a complete digital version of the Businessweek. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1929, the archive contains more than 65 years' worth of content not currently available online to Georgia College researchers.

Esquire Magazine Archive, 1933-2014, delivers coverage of the award-winning American men’s magazine in the areas of politics, men’s fashion, entertainment, fiction and pop culture. It includes more than 900 issues providing a broad view of 20th-Century American thought through cultural and current events.

Forbes Magazine Archive is a complete digital version of Forbes backfile. With coverage starting with the first issue in 1917, the archive offers 70 years’ worth of content not currently available online to Georgia College students and faculty.

Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. 

U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive is unique in that it covers the magazine from the beginning of its three predecessor titles. The magazine features a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions. 

OpinionArchives

OpinionArchives offers electronic archives for leading journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, NACLA, American Spectator, National Review, The New Leader, Harper's Magazine, New York Review of Books, The Progressive, The Weekly Standard, Moment, Washington Monthly. Orion, Dissent or The New Yorker.

One-time purchase of one or more of the titles from OpinionArchives will allow the library to offer complete coverage to the magazine in a format preferred by students and faculty.

Try a search of the full OpinionArchive at: http://metasearch.opinionarchives.com/

ProQuest

Periodicals Archive Online contains three foundation collections offers coverage of titles not included in JSTOR. 

One-time purchase of one, two or three of the foundation collections would expand the library's access to leading titles.

More information about these collections at ProQuest: https://www.proquest.com/products-services/periodicals_archive.html

Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to leading titles of the genre, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal.  These magazines can be used to demonstrate evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles in the collection include:

  • Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
  • Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
  • Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
  • Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005)
  • Parents (1926 to 2005)
  • Redbook (1903 to 2005)

Purchase of Women's Magazine Archive I would replace the library's physical holdings of several of these titles with online access.

Women’s Magazine Archive 2 also features several of the most prominent, high-circulating, and long-running publications.  TItles in this collection include:

  • Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
  • Essence (1970 to 2005)
  • Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
  • Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
  • Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
  • Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)

Purchase of Women's Magazine Archive 2 would not replace any physical items, but it would provide a more inclusive and diverse collection.  While the library does not have current holdings, we likely held subscriptions to several of these titles in previous decades.

GALE Primary Resource Collections

GALE, like many other primary source providers, offer discounts based on how many collections are purchased.  Purchasing all of these collections at the same time offers significant savings, not only in the purchase price but also in annual maintenance fees.

  • American Fiction, 1774-1920
  • The Economist, 1843-2014 (with annual update)
  • Illustrated London News, 1842-2003
  • National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994
  • The SUNDAY Times, 1822-2016

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections

Georgia College students and faculty have been very pleased with the JSTOR collections to which the library currently offers access.  Purchase of the remaining arts & sciences collections would allow the library to reduce the physical footprint of the periodicals collection while offering additional quality titles in a wide range of disciplines in a format preferred by researchers.

Arts & Sciences IX contains 179 titles in the subject categories of
  • Business
  • Economics
  • Archaeology
  • Anthropology
  • Social and Political Sciences
  • Interdisciplinary Cultural Studies

    One-time purchase $57,894

Arts & Sciences X contains 128 titles in the subject areas of:
  • Business
  • Sociology
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Finance
  • History of Science
  • Technology & Medicine
  • Public Policy & Administration
   One-time purchase price $48,105

Arts & Sciences XII contains 128 titles in the subject areas:
  • Law
  • Political Science
  • Education
  • Sociology
  • Criminology
  • Social Work
  • Psychology
  • Asian Studies

One-time purchase price of $42,736

Arts & Sciences XIV

Devoted to the study of culture and communication, from civilization's earliest traces to the growth and governance of peoples, and includes a cluster titles covering aspects of science, technology and STEM education; journals in the collection span 17 countries, 23 disciplines, and date back to 1839.

One time purchase price $35,578

Arts & Sciences XV

With extensive coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, it aims to encompass the best titles not previously included on JSTOR; along with 20 titles drawn from Mathematics & Statistics and 21 titles from the Jewish Studies collection, there will be 110 new-to-JSTOR titles that are historically significant and that have become seminal publications in their field.

One -time purchase price $59,947