Library: GC2Y Rebel Girls: A Cross-Cultural Perspective of Women : Research Project

Social Issues

Social Issues (violence against women, poverty, war/conflict, harmful cultural norms)

Extremism (VOXPOL):
he VOX-Pol Network of Excellence (NoE) is a European Union Framework Programme 7 (FP7)-funded academic research network focused on researching the prevalence, contours, functions, and impacts of Violent Online Political Extremism and responses to it.
ICRW:
Resources and Publications: International Center for Research on Women

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae (Editor); Dale Spender (Editor)
Call Number: Reference: HQ1115 .R69 2000
ISBN: 9780415920889
Publication Date: 2000-12-27
Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory.

Health Issues (Reproductive rights, disease, sanitation, environment)

APHA: American Public Health Association
Global Health Resources
Center for Reproductive Rights
The Center aims to be the world's foremost source of free, downloadable information on reproductive rights law and policy.
PubMed

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers.

Gender Equality (leadership, education, wages, gender gap)

Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics.
Coverage Dates: 1994 - present

CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook provides detailed information about countries including government, geography, people, and economy.
Library of Congress Country Studies
"Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
UN CEDAW Country Reports (Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women)
"Find the most recent country reports submitted... to the Division for the Advancement of Women."
World Health Organization Country Information
Provides health related data for all United Nations member countries.
UNICEF Statistics & Monitoring
UNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Large archive of surveys useful in secondary analysis and quantitative research. Includes political and election studies, education studies, population research, economic attitudes and behavior, social indicators, and studies on health status from the United States and many countries worldwide. Searches of holdings are possible using author, title, keyword, or study number.