The Katherine Kirkwood Scott Collection is 8 cubic feet, and consists of five series of eight file boxes, plus three individual book boxes containing scrapbooks and diaries. The collection spans the years from 1770-1988, with the most concentration in the years 1850-53, 1890-98, and 1960-75. Contents include published and unpublished manuscripts written by Scott, drafts of her novels, photographs, scrapbooks, genealogical materials, awards, nineteenth century letters, Spanish-American War materials and newspaper clippings.
The collection contains notable gaps. Though Miss Scott taught at Georgia College for 34 years, there is little to no professional material in the form of correspondence, or of her achievements while teaching. The collection focuses on her writings, local history, and family genealogical information. Each series is arranged in chronological order.
Box 1 contains Scott's personal papers, financial documents, diaries, assorted essays, notes, and some correspondence. A group of her works pertaining to local history is included here in her personal writings.
Boxes 2 - 11 contain Katherine Scott's manuscripts, both fiction and non-fiction. These are mostly unpublished works and fragments of works handwritten by Scott, including short stories, novels, essays, and historical sketches. Some are titled, others untitled.
Boxes 12 -16 are concerned with family history and genealogy. Carte-de-visites of family, and one snapshot of Katherine Scott are included. Of particular interest is a group of letters written from New Orleans in the 1850s, during the courtship of Walter T. Scott and Mary Whiteley, Scott's grandparents. While the collection at one time contained significant Civil War correspondence between General Joshua Howell and Union army officials. General Howell was killed at Petersburg, Virginia in 1864. These documents were sold to the University of Pennsylvania where they are held in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library as the Joshua Blackwood Howell Papers. Another folder contains letters between Miss Scott's parents, Captain Albert B. Scott and Mary Howell, written Captain Scott was serving in the Spanish American War (1898).
Boxes 17-18 contains diaries, scrapbooks, mementos and letters all pertaining to Miss Scott's younger sister, Mary Agnes Scott (born 1896). Agnes was a nurse and died in 1933 while serving in a military hospital. Three manuscript boxes hold scrapbook/diaries created by Agnes Scott dating from 1913-1916. These include not only daily entries by Agnes of her personal experiences as a teenager during the 1910s, but many newspaper clippings, social cards and invitations. The First World War is chronicled through significant newspaper articles from the Union Recorder that Agnes saved.
Boxes 19-20 contain miscellaneous clipping files of articles, book reviews, and other items saved by Katherine Scott. One notable addition to this series is a letter to Scott from Flannery O'Connor.
Box 21 contains fragments of two Victorian alphabet books probably belonging to Agnes and Katherine.
Other holdings in the GC Archives pertaining to Katherine Scott include interviews on VHS taped Fall Quarter 1986. On one tape Katherine Scott relates her famous Sam Walker ghost story. These videos can be found in the University Television Collection.