Library: ARTS 1201: Three-Dimensional Design : Installation Art

Books

Below you will find print and electronic books that should be useful for your research for this course. You can find additional titles by searching the Russell Library Catalog.

Aesthetics of Installation Art by Juliane Rebentisch
Call Number: Circulating Collection; Library Third Floor; BH39 .R386613 2012
ISBN: 9783943365191
Publication Date: 2012-04-06
In recent years, debates surrounding the concept of art have focused in particular on installation art, as its diverse manifestations have proven to be incompatible with the modern idea of aesthetic autonomy. Defenders of aesthetic modernism repudiated installation-based work as no longer autonomous art, whereas advocates of aesthetic postmodernism abandoned the concept of aesthetic autonomy altogether. Juliane Rebentisch asserts that installation art does not, as is often assumed, dispute aesthetic autonomy per se, and rather should be understood as calling for a fundamental revision of this very concept. Aesthetics of Installation Art thus proposes a new understanding of art as well as of its ethical and political dimension.
Art+com: Media Spaces and Installations by Joachim Sauter; Susanne Jaschko; Jussi Angesleva
Call Number: Circulating Collection; Library Third Floor; NA6695 .S38 2011
ISBN: 9783899552850
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
With its more than 20-year history, ART+COM continues to play a central role in defining the international forefront of spatial media communication. The studio is setting the standard of excellence in the development of projects at the intersection of art, media, design, and technology. ART+COM is particularly skilled at presenting brands and content both effectively and playfully so that they resonate on an emotional level. A prime example here is the Kinetic Sculpture that the company created for BMW, for which the company has won an impressive range of awards including Clios, a Cannes Lions, Art Directors Club Awards, and a Gold German Design Award. In ART+COM: Media Spaces and Installations the group presents its quintessential work with new media as well as insights based on its perspectives and experience. The book features detailed documentation of projects for clients such as DaimlerChrysler, Esprit, and Deutsche Bank as well as the agency#65533;s own work that has been exhibited at renowned museums including the Centre Pompidou and the Shanghai Art Museum, and at the Venice Biennale. The broad range of examples and comprehensive texts explain concepts, working methods, and implementation. Links to each project lead to specially created websites with additional film and image material. ART+COM: Media Spaces and Installations presents a range of versatile new possibilities offered by the strategic merging of communication, design, and technology and provides a compelling look into the future of new media. It is geared toward anyone who is interested in new media, interactivity, visualization, media art, and the digital world.
Art Installations by Alix Wood
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 1482422735
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
When viewers walk into an art installation, it may transport them to the bottom of the ocean, the moon, or even a child's bedroom. Installation art changes how viewers see the space they're in. It takes a lot of time and conceptualization to create installation art--yet some people don't consider it genuine art! Readers are introduced to how installations are created and what they may be made up of, as well as both views on their legitimacy as art. Critical thinking questions combined with full-color photographs engage readers visually and intellectually--just as a good art installation would!
Blurring the Boundaries by Hugh M. Davies; Ronald J. Onorato; Anne Farrell (Editor); Philipp S. Rittermann (Photographer)
Call Number: Oversize Collection;Library Third Floor; N6494.I56 B58 1997
ISBN: 9780934418447
Publication Date: 1997-02-02
A classic documentation of site-specific and multi-media installation artwork, Blurring the Boundaries surveys twenty-five years of the genre's finest accomplishments. Included are James Turrell, Vito Acconci, Terry Allen, Bruce Nauman, Tony Oursler, Anish Kapoor, Celia Alvarez Munoz and others.
The Digital Interface and New Media Art Installations by Phaedra Shanbaum
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 1138605875
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
This book is about the digital interface and its use in interactive new media art installations. It examines the aesthetic aspects of the interface through a theoretical exploration of new media artists, who create, and tactically deploy, digital interfaces in their work in order to question the socio-cultural stakes of a technology that shapes and reshapes relationships between humans and non-humans. In this way, it shows how use of the digital interface provides us with a critical framework for understanding our relationship with technology.
Framed Spaces by Monica E. McTighe
Call Number: Circulating Collection; Library Third Floor; N72.P5 M38 2012
ISBN: 9781611682052
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
While earlier theorists held up "experience" as the defining character of installation art, few people have had the opportunity to walk through celebrated installation pieces from the past. Instead, installation art of the past is known through archival photographs that limit, define, and frame the experience of the viewer. Monica E. McTighe argues that the rise of photographic-based theories of perception and experience, coupled with the inherent closeness of installation art to the field of photography, had a profound impact on the very nature of installation art, leading to a flood of photography- and film-based installations. With its close readings of specific works, Framed Spaces will appeal to art historians and theorists across a broad spectrum of the visual arts.
Framed Spaces: Photography and Memory in Contemporary Installation Art by Monica E. McTighe
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9781611682052
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
While earlier theorists held up "experience" as the defining character of installation art, few people have had the opportunity to walk through celebrated installation pieces from the past. Instead, installation art of the past is known through archival photographs that limit, define, and frame the experience of the viewer. Monica E. McTighe argues that the rise of photographic-based theories of perception and experience, coupled with the inherent closeness of installation art to the field of photography, had a profound impact on the very nature of installation art, leading to a flood of photography- and film-based installations. With its close readings of specific works, Framed Spaces will appeal to art historians and theorists across a broad spectrum of the visual arts.
Inside Installations by Tatja Scholte (Editor); Glenn Wharton (Editor)
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9789048513659
Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Anything is possible in installation art. The typically short lifespan of the materials and techniques used and the intended experience can be endless, often to the despair of the custodian of the work. The processes involved in preserving this complex form of art, reinstalling it, finding ways to recreate the experience over and again, as well as the decisionmaking that underlies these processes, form the backbone of this book. What did the artist originally intend and how has that concept been realised in the past? How can one preserve and document the installation? What relation exists between the components and the space, and what is the spectator's part in the work? Questions of this kind are examined in connection with a number of case studies. At the same time, it reports on the results of an extensive research project Inside Installations (2004-2007) carried out by an international group of custodians active in the conservation of contemporary art.
Installation and the Moving Image by Catherine Elwes
Call Number: Online resource
ISBN: 0231850808
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
Traces the lineage of moving-image installation through architecture, painting, sculpture, performance, expanded cinema, film history, and countercultural film and video
Installation Art by Anne Ring Petersen
Call Number: Circulating Collection; Library Third Floor; N6494.I56 P48 2015
ISBN: 9788763542579
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Despite its large and growing popularity--to say nothing of its near-ubiquity in the world's art scenes and international exhibitions of contemporary art--installation art remains a form whose artistic vocabulary and conceptual basis have rarely been subjected to thorough critical examination. With this book, Anne Ring Petersen aims to change that. She begins by exploring how installation art developed into an interdisciplinary genre in the 1960s, and how its intertwining of the visual and the performative has acted as a catalyst for the generation of new artistic phenomena. She goes on to address a series of basic questions that get at the heart of what installation art is and how it is defined. Drawing on the work of such well-known artists as Bruce Nauman, Pipilotti Rist, Ilya Kabakov, and many others, Petersen breaks crucial new ground in understanding the conceptual underpinnings of this vibrant form.
Installation art as experience of self, in space and time [PDF] by Christine Vial Kayser (Editor); Sylvie Coellier (Editor)
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 1648892760
Publication Date: 2021-09-07
Installation art has modified our relationship to art for over fifty years by soliciting the whole body, demonstrating its sensitivity to space, surroundings, and the living beings with which it is constantly interacting. This book analyses this modification of perception through phenomenological approaches convoking Husserl, Heidegger, Merleau-Ponty, as well as Levinas, Depraz, and the neuroscientist Varela. This theoretical framework is implicit in the various case studies which revisit works that have become classic or emblematic by Carl Andre, Bruce Nauman, Dan Graham; inaugural experiments that remain available only through photographic and written archives by Jean-Michel Sanejouand, Philippe Parreno, as well as the influence of the mode in the realm of music. The book also examines the transference of this Western form to Asia, revealing how it resonates with ancient Asian representations and practices-often associated with the spiritual.The distinct chapters underpin the role of space as a metaframe, the common ground of the various installations. While the nature and agency of space varies-from social, historical space, leisurely or political space, inner psychological space, to shared empty space-these installations reveal the chiasm between the individual body and the outside space. The chapters bear testimony of the process in which the physical journey of the spectator's body within a material-at times invisible-space and its structural components takes place in time, as a succession of micro-experiences.'Installation art as experience of self, in space and time' adds to the existing literature of art history a level of theoretical, experiential and transcultural analysis that will make this inquiry relevant to both university students and independent researchers in the academic fields of philosophy, psychology, aesthetics, art theory and history, religious and Asian studies.
Installations and Experimental Printmaking: Printmaking Handbooks by Alexia Tala
Call Number: Circulating Collection; Library Third Floor; NE850 .T35 2009
ISBN: 9780713688078
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
In this book, Alexia Tala explores and investigates the new experimental forms of printmaking, which are today pushing the traditional boundaries of this technique in contemporary art. These include the usage of photo-emulsion, glass and paper, Perspex and paint stripper, printing with sand and digital prints mounted on relief surfaces. This volume also considers the role of the moving image, encaustic (wax) techniques for printing, transferring, collaging and combining traditional prints with wax. In addition to an evaluation of the advantages and disadvantages of these individual approaches, the author also offers an insight into the experiences and concerns of contemporary artists displaying experimental printmaking objects and installations for exhibition. Work of over 30 British and International artists are illustrated giving the reader practical examples and inspiration to explore for themselves the experimental aspects of printmaking.
The Perpetuation of Site-Specific Installation Artworks in Museums by Tatja Scholte
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9463723765
Publication Date: 2021-12-09
Site-specific installations are created for specific locations and are usually intended as temporary artworks. The Perpetuation of Site-Specific Installation Artworks in Museums: Staging Contemporary Artshows that these artworks consist of more than a singular manifestation and that their lifespan is often extended. In this book, Tatja Scholte offers an in-depth account of the artistic production of the last forty years. With a wealth of case studies the author illuminates the diversity of site-specific art in both form and content, as well as in the conservation strategies applied. A conceptual framework is provided for scholars and museum professionals to better understand how site-specific installations gain new meanings during successive stages of their biographies and may become agents for change in professional routines.

Articles

You can find useful articles from peer-reviewed journals using the GALILEO Discover Search, which allows you to search multiple GALILEO databases from a single search interface. You may also search individual databases such as the ones below to find additional content.

Art and Architecture in Video: Art and Architecture in Video, an online streaming film collection, offers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design. The breadth of coverage makes this collection integral to both scholarship and technique, providing access to information about the seminal artists and works that continue to inspire the painters, architects, designers, and critics of today.
Art Full Text: This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications - now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Arts & Humanities Database: includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinary of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
JSTOR All Access: Scholarly journals and primary sources from the arts and sciences extending back to the 19th century.
Project Muse: a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.

For additional database choices, visit the GALILEO Arts & Entertainment page.