Bridging Cultures: Muslim Journeys: About the Collection

The Bridging Cultures: Muslim Journeys bookshelf is split up into five themes with five books each.

The American Stories theme includes the books Prince Among Slaves, The Columbia Sourcebook of Muslims in the United States, Acts of Faith, A Quiet Revolution, and The Butterfly Mosque: A Young American Woman's Journey to Love and Islam.

The Connected Histories theme includes the books When Asia was the World: Traveling Merchants, Scholars, Warriors, and Monks Who Created the 'Riches of the East', The House of Wisdom: How Arabic Science Saved Ancient Knowledge and Gave Us the Renaissance, The Ornament of the World, Leo Africanus, and In an Antique Land.

The Literary Reflections theme includes the books The Arabian Nights, The Conference of the Birds, Snow, Dreams of Trespass, and Minaret.

The Pathways of Faith themes includes the books The Children of Abraham: Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Muhammad: A Very Short Introduction, The Story of the Qur'an: Its History and Place in Muslim Life, The Art of Hajj, and Rumi: Poet and Mystic.

The Points of View theme includes the books In the Country of Men, Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood, House of Stone, Broken Verses, and Dreams of Trespass.

The DVDs Koran by Heart, Islamic Art: Mirror of the Invisible World, Prince Among Slaves, and Islamic Art Spots, along with the book Islamic Arts, are grouped under the heading of "Art, Architecture, and Film".

For more information about the themes for the bookshelf, please visit the official website.

The collection includes twenty-five books:

• Minaret by Leila Aboulela
• A Quiet Revolution by Leila Ahmed
• The Conference of the Birds by Farid al-Din Attar, translated by Dick Davis and Afkham Darbandi
• The House of Wisdom: How Arabic Science Saved Ancient Knowledge and Gave Us the Renaissance by Jim Al-Khalili
• Prince Among Slaves by Terry Alford
• Islamic Arts by Jonathan Bloom and Sheila Blair
• Muhammad: A Very Short Introduction by Jonathan A. C. Brown
• The Columbia Sourcebook of Muslims in the United States, edited by Edward E. Curtis IV
• In an Antique Land by Amitav Ghosh
• When Asia Was the World: Traveling Merchants, Scholars, Warriors, and Monks Who Created the “Riches of the East” by Stewart Gordon
• Leo Africanus by Amin Maalouf, translated by Peter Sluglett
• The Arabian Nights (anonymous), edited by Muhsin Mahdi, translated by Husain Haddawy
• In the Country of Men by Hisham Matar
• The Story of the Qur’an: Its History and Place in Muslim Life by Ingrid Mattson
• The Ornament of the World by Maria Rosa Menocal
• Dreams of Trespass by Fatima Mernissi
• Rumi: Poet and Mystic, edited and translated by Reynold A. Nicholson
• Snow by Orhan Pamuk, translated by Maureen Freely
• Acts of Faith by Eboo Patel
• The Children of Abraham: Judaism, Christianity, Islam by F. E. Peters
• The Art of Hajj by Venetia Porter
• House of Stone by Anthony Shadid
• Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Satrapi
• Broken Verses by Kamila Shamsie
• The Butterfly Mosque: A Young American Woman’s Journey to Love and Islam by G. Willow Wilson

The collection includes three movies:

• Prince Among Slaves (directed by Andrea Kalin, produced by Unity Productions Foundation, 2007)
• Islamic Art: Mirror of the Invisible World (directed by Rob Gardner, produced by Unity Productions Foundation, 2011)
• Koran by Heart (directed by Greg Barker, produced by HBO documentary films, 2011)

The collection also includes a one-year subscription to the Oxford Islamic Studies Online journal (accessible through GALILEO) and Islamic Art Spots, a series of seven video essays about Islamic art and architecture.

For more information about the Bridging Cultures: Muslim Journeys bookshelf, visit the official website.

The Bridging Cultures: Muslim Journeys bookshelf is currently located on the second floor of the LITC, right in front of the Circulation Desk.  The entire collection is available now!  Stop by and check it out.