Off-Campus Services: FINDING SOURCES

FINDING BOOKS

GIL Universal Catalog 

This catalog allows you to search the libraries at all University System of Georgia institutions. If you find a book you need, you can request it through GIL Express and have it delivered to any USG library near your home or workplace. This includes the Middle Georgia State College (formerly, Macon State College) Library on their main campus, or their Warner Robins location at Nola Brantley Public Library. When you are finished, you can return the book to the same, or any other USG library.

WorldCat

WorldCat is a GALILEO database that combines the catalogs of thousands of libraries from around the world. If you can't find what you need from the GIL Universal Catalog you can search WorldCat for materials in libraries outside of Georgia. You will need to use Interlibrary Loan to request these materials.

FINDING ARTICLES IN JOURNALS

Many databases available for your use through GALILEO. You will need the current Georgia College password to connect to these resources from off campus. There are two ways to get the GALILEO password:

Log in to PAWS, and choose GALILEO from the Main Menu.

OR 

Go to the Georgia College online catalog  

1. Select "Get GALILEO Password" in the right‐hand column.
2. Enter your University ID or barcode, last name, and PIN. (If you do not have a PIN, follow the instructions to get one.)
3. The password will appear in the drop‐down box.

General Databases

The following are good databases for general searches on all topics. Many other subject-specific databases are also available.

• Academic Search Complete
• Research Library (ProQuest)

You can see a list of databases by subject area under the Browse by Subject tab.

Journal Locator

If you need to find a specific journal, use the Journal Locator to see if it is available in the Library or in any of our online, full‐text databases.

In the example below, the Journal of Business Communication is available from several online databases with the dates of availability included. So, you could click on one of those links to search for articles in that journal. The journal is also available in the library (generally in print or microfilm). You can click on the link to find which dates are available.

Journal of business communication (1973)  (0021-9436)