Skip to main content

W.J. Usery, Jr. collection

Scope and Content

The W.J. Usery, Jr. Collection consists of seven series spanning his enitre career as public servant; his time in his private buisness, Bill Usery & Associates; and materials that showcase his major impact on labor laws.

Series One contains speeches from various presentations throughout his career from 1975-2003, including speeches such as the Eastern Conference of the Teamsters Union, the baseball owners at Palm Beach, the Georgia Management and Labor Conference, and The Usery Center Opening Ceremony.

Series Two contains unframed documents that were originally mounted in frames, but taken out for preservation purposes. These documents include several certificates of recognition to W.J. Usery and photographs of Usery posed with significant political figures, such as Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford. 

Series Three contains 27 dated, 7 undated, and 16 numbered scrapbooks. The scrapbooks contain photographs and newspaper clippings of Usery's accomplishments throughout his career.

Series Four contains VHS tapes, cassette tapes, and CDs of dinners, award ceremonies, interviews, and documentaries about labor laws that specifically highlight Usery and his influence on policies still in effect today.

Series Five contains framed photographs, certificates, and a few paintings. The framed materials take up four boxes, but most are large enough to take up several rows of shelves within the stacks. There are over 50 framed materials.

Series Six contains objects given to Usery, including airplane models, hard hats, plaques, wall and desk decor, pins, inauguration ephemera, and ID badges. Many of these items are located in drawers within the stacks.

Series Seven is separated from the other series in the collection because it contains large objects such as white columns/pillars, exhibit boards, pictures with quotations, signage, and other graphics from a  former exhibit held at the Usery Center at Georgia State University.