Skip to main content

David Sherman papers

Provenance and Arrangement

The materials in the David Sherman papers were donated to the Ina Dillard Russell Library in 2006. Later additions have been incorporated into the appropriate series within this collection.

The David Sherman papers are divided into nine series. Each series contains research and correspondence related to specific properties or historic preservation in general. Series 7 contains most of Sherman's personal correspondence and research. There series are as follows:

  • Series 1: Statehouse
  • Series 2: Old Clinton Historical Society
  • Series 3: Sparta, GA
  • Series 4: Georgia Research
  • Series 5: Scott-Carter-Furman-Smith House
  • Series 6: Personal, Environmental, Political, Historic and Public Involvement
  • Series 7: Mt. Nebo / Governor David B. Mitchell Series
  • Series 8: Preservation Series
  • Series 9: Oversized

The collection also contains an oversized series that is comprised of prints and maps collected by David Sherman. Most Oversized items are hanging and not boxed.