Library: HIST 3001 Historical Research & Writing: Find Articles

GALILEO DATABASES

Suggested Databases to use when researching in GALILEO:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items - photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more - from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others. Users can also explore digital exhibitions curated by the DPLA's content partners and staff.
DPLA strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a full-text database of scholarly journals covering: literature, history, art, political science, economics, math, and other fields in the arts and sciences. Project Muse allows users to either search full-text articles or browse the journals.
JSTOR All Access This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection: Scholarly journals and primary sources from the arts and sciences extending back to the 19th century.

JSTOR is a collection of electronic journals and primary sources in the fields of: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research Library is a multidisciplinary resource that features scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers across a variety of subjects with access to thousands of titles, including many full-text articles.
Coverage Dates: 1971 to present

BOOKS, ARTICLES, DATABASES, & MORE

GALILEO: Search the Georgia College collection for books and e-books, media (videos and audio recordings), government documents, musical scores, plays, print journals and microfiche. Also, search online databases and journals for articles, proceedings, and papers.

GIL Universal Catalog: Access to the universal catalog and the local library catalog is now possible through gilfind.gcsu.edu. Take a look at the photo below to see how to switch from searching the local catalog to the universal catalog. Use GIL Express to request items from another library in the University System of Georgia.

WorldCat: Search libraries outside Georgia. If you find something you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request items from libraries outside the University System of Georgia.