The materials in this collection date from 1909 to 1966. The collection is arranged into five series. Series 6 contains the books from her library.
The collection contains Wootten's personal and professional correspondence, greeting cards, journals, maps, and materials relating to the Health and P.E. Department at Georgia State College for Women where she taught Health from 1917 to 1952. The collection also contains numerous articles on various Health subjects such as sex education and hygiene. There are also miscellaneous papers such as Wootten's business correspondence and resumes. The collection covers most of her life beginning in 1909 and ending in 1966. However, there are gaps in each decade, notably in the 1920's and 1930's.
The collection is organized into five series and most of it is arranged chronologically.
Series 1 – Personal Correspondence: contains correspondence of the Wootten family from 1909-1966. Mrs. Wootten most frequently corresponded with her husband, Mr. Stewart Wootten, her nieces and nephews, her son, and her grandchildren. Series I also contains greeting cards (1901-1956), postcards (1947-54) and travel journals.
Series 2 – Professional Correspondence: contains Wootten's textbook correspondence from 1927-1951 with her publishers such as A.S. Barnes and Company as well as correspondence from persons and institutions seeking permission to quote from her textbooks from 1934-1958. Finally, it contains material from the Recreation Association (sponsored by the GSCW Health Department) from 1934-35 and 1936-37.
Series 3 – Miscellaneous Papers: contains assorted material such as Wootten's Business Correspondence from 1920-58, magazines and articles from GSCW, her resumes (1915-1952) and her genealogy research from 1924-1953.
Series 4 – GSCW P.E. and Health Department: contains the bulk of the material. It documents the history of the Health department from the 1890s to the 1930s, as well as P.E. and Health department annual reports, her course notes and syllabi, the GSCW Health Club minutes, lists of officers from the 1930s and 1940s, and photographs of Health Club activities.
Series 5 – Health Articles and Bulletins: contains articles on various health subjects such as teaching health in public schools, sex education, and hygiene.
Series 6 – Books: contains books focusing on health-related issues.