Skip to main content

Euri Belle Bolton Collection

Scope and Content

The Euri Belle Bolton papers consist of six-file boxes-two manuscript, one box of unpublished works box and three boxes of publications by Bolton. The manuscript boxes contain personal correspondence, records and reports, poetry, school papers, contracts, transcripts and articles written about Euri Belle Bolton. The documents cover a span of years from 1902-2000. The bulk dates range form 1910 through the 1940s.

Box 1 contains a bibliography of Bolton's published works as well as certificates and diplomas earned throughout the years. Bolton's list of addresses and correspondence between Bolton and the Georgia College faculty and between Bolton and Dr. Edward Dawson are found in this box as well as correspondence between friends and family spanning through the years 1915-1999. Peabody articles, contracts and newspaper clippings regarding Bolton are located in Box 1.

Many of Bolton's poems can be found in Box 2. Records and Reports from her work as an extension agent are also located here. School papers from 1910-1915 along with transcripts are also incorporated into this part of the collection. Bolton's personal information form filled out by Bolton herself, along with her picture id from 1959 is housed in this part of the collection. Teacher retirement information and recommendations are also located in Box 2.

Box 3 contains Bolton's unpublished works. Bolton's M.A. Thesis is also found in this part of the collection along with other psychology, education and analytical studies. Several Georgia State School Items bulletins are housed in Box 3 along with the Department of the Interior's Bulletin on School Surveys.

Boxes 4, 5 and 6 are comprised of the published works of Bolton. The educational surveys of Georgia counties make up the bulk of the material. Bolton also had several articles published in the Peabody Journal of Education and in the High School Journal. These articles and the journals they are found in are integrated into the collection. A poem found in the Corinthian by Bolton and a short story published in a journal are also included in the boxed material. Bolton's Development of a Department of Psychology at Georgia College, a book published by Bolton is also in this collection.