Skip to main content

Using University Archives: Researching in the University Archives

Visiting Special Collections

The Georgia College University Archives is open to any interested researcher. The Georgia College University Archives is housed in Special Collections, Ina Dillard Russell Library.

When school is in session, Special Collections is open from 9-5 Monday through Friday. Hours will vary during breaks and in between semesters. For more information on visiting Special Collections, visit our Researcher Resources guide.

Using Primary Documents

When using primary documents ask the following questions about the document?

  • Who made this?
  • Why was this made? What was its intended purpose?
  • What information can you determine from the document?
  • What can you infer from the document?
  • What other information do you need?
  • What is the bias inherent in the document?
Also use the forms below to help you research.

Topics Founds in University Archives

There are many topics to explore in the Georgia College University Archives. Some of these include:

  • Family History (Catalogs, Yearbooks)
  • Race and Education (Presidents Files, University Vertical Files, Student Affairs)
  • Women's History
  • History of Education
  • Health Education
  • Student Life (Student Affairs, Student Activities, University Publications)

University Archives Finding Aids

President Files

Public Relations Records

University Archives Photographs

  • University Archives Photograph Collection
  • Tim Vacula Photographs

University and Student Publications

  • Alumni Journal
  • Colonnade
  • Corinthian
  • Connection

Faculty Manuscript Collections

How Can I Help?

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
478-445-0988

Need Help?
Website