Skip to main content

Newspapers: Milledgeville

A guide to finding newspapers at Georgia College and beyond!

Milledgeville Newspapers

Historic:

The Milledgeville Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to eleven newspaper titles published in Milledgeville from 1808 to 1920. Consisting of over 49,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. Because Milledgeville served as the state capital from 1804 to 1868, during the antebellum, Civil War, and Reconstruction periods in the state's history, the site will provide researchers with particular historical insight into Georgia politics during the nineteenth century.

1808 The Milledgeville Intelligencer, printed by A. McMillan on Franklin Street began and ended publication.
1808 The Georgia Argus was established.
1809 Seaton and Fleming Grantland established the Georgia Journal.
1819 The Southern Recorder was established by Richard McAllister Orme and Henry Denison.
1830 The Federal Union was established with John Polhill as editor.

Current:

The Union Recorder
The Baldwin Bulletin

 

The following local newspapers are available on microfilm in the GC Library. Use the Georgia Newspaper Project Holdings List (Ref PN4897 .G6 S47) to verify issues.

Newspaper Dates Available in Russell Library Index(es) and Call Number
Milledgeville Intelligencer November 22, 1808  
Georgia Journal November 3, 1809 - December 22, 1840 Genealogical Abstracts from the Georgia Journal (Milledgeville) Newspaper, 1809-1840
Ref F285 .H27
Georgia Argus
(Reel also contains Rural Cabinet published in Warrenton, GA. for August 20, 1831)
January 9, 1810 - December 26
1810and March 1, 1815
 
Milledgeville Republican and Reflecto March 20, 1816- February 2, 1819  
Southern Recorder February 15, 1820 - July, 1872 Southern Recorder Index 1820-1874
Ref F294.M6 A76 1984
AND
Milledgeville, Georgia, Newspaper Clippings Genealogical-related information
Ref F294 .M6E82
The Southron February 23, 1828  
Georgia Statesman; Filed as: Statesman and Patriot; Times and States' Rights Advocate; and Georgia Times and State Rights' Advocate December 20, 1825 - July 3, 1830;
January 15, 1833 - January 18, 1834
Volume 12 of Milledgeville, Georgia, Newspaper Clippings Genealogical-related information
Ref F294 .M6E82
Federal Union July 10, 1830 - August 21, 1872
Last reel contains Union and Recorder for August 28, 1872 - October, 1872]
Baldwin County, Georgia, Newspaper Clippings Genealogical-related information
Ref F292 .B15
Milledgeville Standard of Union and Free Trade Advocate; Standard of Union April, 1834; January - August, 1841 Volume 12 of
Milledgeville, Georgia, Newspaper Clippings Genealogical-related information
Ref F294 .M6E82
Union and Recorder
Union-Recorder
November, 1872 - August, 1884
September, 1884 to present
[Last reel of the Federal Union contains Union and Recorder for August 28, 1872 - October, 1872]
Baldwin County, Georgia, Newspaper Clippings Genealogical-related information
Ref F292 .B15
Milledgeville News January 9, 1909 - December, 1922**
**Many gaps: see labels on the three boxes
 
Future Citizen June, 1914 - August, 1916  
The Milledgeville Times September 4, 1931 - September 2, 1932  
Milledgeville Daily Times March 27, 1939 - May 8, 1942  
Baldwin News June 16, 1958 - December 14, 1965  
Baldwin Bulletin April 13, 2000 to present.
(Request at Circulation Desk)
 

Subject Guide

Jolene Cole
Contact:
Russell Library
Campus Box 043
478.445.0989 (Office)

Research Center:
478.445.0979 (Phone)
OR
Text us! at (478) 845-3057

We'll respond as soon as possible during our regular hours. (Standard text rates apply)