Banner Image

Special Collections- Collections and Archival Materials Pertaining to Women's History: Home

Suggested Web Enabled Resources
Overview

Special Collections possesses numerous manuscripts, photographs, recordings, newspapers, and vertical files that directly or indirectly relate to women’s studies. Significant collections include the Flannery O’Connor collection, university archives that describe life at Georgia College for students, faculty/staff, and administrators, and our small manuscripts (local history) collection.

 

Collection strengths include Georgia women, women living in Milledgeville/Baldwin County and contiguous counties, students, faculty/staff at Georgia College, alumnae such as Flannery O’Connor, and teachers of Peabody Model School.

Educational records abound in Special Collections. Former student collections and teacher/professor collections are numerous.

 

Of Special note:

Mary Flannery O’Connor attended school at Georgia State College for Women from 1942 until 1945. She went on to write short stories and the novels, Wise Blood and The Violent Bear it Away.

 

During World War II, the W.A.V.E.S. (Women Accepted for Auxiliary Service) were housed and trained on the GSCW campus from 1943 through 1945. Barbara Chandler was a member of the W.A.V.E.S. Her uniforms and scrapbook are stored in Special Collections.

The Golden Slipper theatrical competition was initiated by Ethel Adams in 1935 to inspire camaraderie and lasted until the 1970s.

Subject Guide
Special Collections
Contact:
478-445-0988

Need Help?
Social: