Skip to main content

Special Collections- Outreach and Education: Flannery O'Connor

Special Collections engages in collaborative educational outreach and offers instruction sessions in archival research.

O'Connor Timeline

Biography

Research Guide

Suggested Resources for Teachers

These links lead to suggested resources (materials and lesson plans) for teaching about Flannery O'Connor.

Full-Text O'Connor Stories

Click on either link to find full-text stories to be used in your classroom!

Lesson Plan and Pre-Visit Activities

Standards:

ELA11W1 The student produces writing that establishes an appropriate organizational structure, sets a context and engages the reader, maintains a coherent focus throughout, and signals a satisfying closure.

 

ELA11W3 The student uses research and technology to support writing.

 

SSUSH24 The student will analyze the impact of social change movements and organizations of the 1960s.

 

SSUSRC1 Students will enhance reading in all curriculum areas.

 

Option 1: The students will write a criticism on Flannery O’Connor’s article(s). The students can either critically analyze one of O’Connor’s full-text articles or they can compare and contrast the writing styles, themes, and symbolism in two or more of O’Connor’s texts.  The students will also have the option of writing a criticism on one of the artists inspired by her work or writers who were influenced by Flannery O’Connor. The students can research what inspired them and how her literary work was able to cross over into art.

 

Option 2:The students will artistically recreate a Flannery O’Connor cartoon. They will take one of her existing cartoons and create a background from a different historical era. It could be the old Governor’s Mansion, Raising the Flag on Iwo Jima, the Twin Towers, etc. They may also replicate photos from the Special Collections Flickr page. This will give an artistic outlet to others who express their knowledge better through art.

 

Option 3: Using the provided timeline and other web enabled resources, students will create a timeline that includew historical events that occured during Flannery O'Connor's life. It is suggested that students also use the following two resources:


Flannery O'Connor Room

The Flannery O'Connor room, located in the GCSU museum, pays homage to the university's most famous alum.  The room began with the donation of the author's collection of manuscripts, letters, books, periodicals and personal items in 1971.  O'Connor's mother, Regina Cline O'Connor, graciously donated the materials and indicated in the deed of gift that her donation was "in consideration of lasting interest to the students and faculty of Georgia College and to all scholars from around the world." 

The O'Connor Room, completed in 1974, was planned and constructed under the guidance of Georgia College Alumni Association members Dorrie Neligan and Lucy Nell Cunningham.  The furnishings present in the room were chosen from Andalusia, the author's farm just outside of town.  The room also includes the author's christening gown, which was also worn by her father, her typewriter, desk, and collection of books.

At Georgia College & State University we recognize the responsibility we have in caring for and providing access to the most complete O'Connor collection available.  We strive to maintain the collection and room as the center of research for scholars and students from around the world who may contribute to the continuation of O'Connor's legacy. 

The Flannery O'Connor room, located in the GCSU museum, is a part of the GCSU Library and Instructional Technology Center complex.  The entrance to the museum is located on the corner of Wilkinson and Clarke streets at 221 N. Clarke Street. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday 10:00 AM-4:00 PM.

Contact us!

Contact Special Collections today to set up a class visit of the O'Connor Room and to watch a discuss a film of Flannery O'Connor. Or, suggest an idea and we will work with you to meet standards and your own ideas.

Subject Guide

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
478-445-0988

Need Help?
Website / Blog Page

Suggested Class Visit Itinerary

1. Visit Special Collections for a tour of the Flannery O'Connor Room and special viewing of an interview of O'Connor.

2. Eat lunch in Milledgeville's historic district

3. See her grave in Memory Hill Cemetery.

4. Tour at Andalusia