Skip to main content

Flannery O'Connor: Getting Started

Guide to researching Flannery O'Connor

Getting Started

When beginning to research Flannery O'Connor, its best to start with the basic. Ask yourself:

  • What do I want to know about O'Connor?
  • What short story am I most interested in learning more about?
  • What specific theme, such as religion or violence, am I most interested in exploring in O'Connor's works?
Use the answers to these questions and other research thoughts to formulate your search terms and keywords.

O'Connor Books

Using the catalog

Beginning Your Flannery O'Connor Research

Where to Begin?

For students in Georgia: Most public institutions have access to GALILEO (please note the search link in the above box). Below is a list of some additional databases that are invaluable when performing research on Flannery O'Connor:

  • MLA International Bibliography (recommended for scholarly research)
  • JSTOR
  • Project MUSE
  • Literary Reference Center
  • Literature Online

Using these databases you can do a keyword search (for example, Flannery O'Connor AND violence).  The citations you find on these databases will be critical essays and articles.

For students at GC:  In addition to GALILEO, you may search the GC Library Catalog (GIL), which is located on the Library and Informational Technology Center's website.  It should be noted that some entries retrieved are only available in Special Collections.  Materials located in Special Collections may not be checked out, and may not be removed from the Special Collections research room. Some searches to start with in the GIL system would be:

Flannery O'Connor AND Religion
Flannery O'Connor AND Violence
Flannery O'Connor AND Criticism

Students who do not live in Georgia: the databases listed above are available at many college and university libraries throughout the United States. The articles found using these sources may be available at your library or through interlibrary loan.

All Students may find it helpful to browse the books with call numbers beginning with PS 3565.C57. Z. (located in the general stacks on the third floor and the reference area on the second floor of the GC Library and Informational Technology Center). Compilations of critical writings about Flannery O'Connor generally have excellent and exhaustive indexes. Consult these indexes to locate keywords or concepts related to your topic.  Please note that subjects addressed in these books do not always show up when you search the library catalog.

Flannery O'Connor Collection at Georgia College

The Flannery O'Connor Collection at Georgia College contains many resources for scholarly research. Some of these resources include:

If you wish to use the Flannery O'Connor Collection at Georgia College, it is best to contact Special Collections at least two weeks prior to your intended research visit. Special Collections limits access to the manuscripts of Flannery O'Connor to no more than two scholars at a time. Other materials have no such restrictions.

Book Resources