Skip to main content

Russell Library Fellows: Program Outline

Program Contacts:

Nancy Davis-Bray

Associate Director for Special Collections

Associate Professor of Archives Administration

478.445.0988 

nancy.davisbray@gcsu.edu

 

Shaundra Walker, PhD 

Associate Director for Instruction & Research

Assistant Professor of Library Science 

478.445.0987

shaundra.walker@gcsu.edu 

Russell Library Fellows Pilot Project

The Russell Library Faculty Fellows Project serves as a pilot study created to support collaborative projects between faculty and librarians/archivists that intentionally integrate library resources into academic courses that are (re)designed to provide students with numerous opportunities to engage with scholarship and research-based, hands on learning in order to develop those critical thinking skills that are crucial to evaluate, synthesize and construct their own insights. Examples of such might include: (for Special Collections): documentary editing of letters or manuscripts in Special Collections; 20th century women's history (Flannery O'Connor, Katherine Kirkwood Scott, Julia Flisch, etc); creation of new knowledge - documenting the history and culture of Hardwick, GA (could be a documentary history); (for Instruction & Research Services):  Revision of a current course in consultation with a research librarian by incorporating new and engaging assignments beyond a typical research paper. These assignments might include but are not limited to creative projects, online portfolios, grant proposals, debates etc. The librarian would also be embedded in the course as a resource for students and the faculty member; creation of a new course with a strong information literacy component.

The Fellow will collaborate with a librarian/archivist to scaffold research assignments in order for students to understand scholarship as a conversation and utilize the librarian/archivist to purchase related materials for the new course and/or provide primary source materials for the course. This could also include having a librarian/archivist meet with students during various sessions throughout the semester and/or be incorporated into their D2L courses. 

 

The Russell Library Faculty Fellows Pilot Project offers two options:

a) Information Literacy sponsored by the Library’s Instruction & Research Services Department

b) Archives-based Learning sponsored by Special Collections. (click on Collections to view our holdings)

 

Stipends: 

Participants will receive a stipend of $2000 to support development and implementation of the Information Literacy or Archives-based Learning course project.

 

Eligibility:

The Faculty Fellows program is open to all Georgia College & State University teaching faculty - tenure track and non-tenure track. Applicants must be full-time employees of Georgia College & State University and must be teaching during Fall 2016. 

Deadline for applications is May 20, 2016. 

 

Expectations/Responsibilities:

Each fellow will be responsible for all aspects of planning, budgeting and delivering the completed project. Completion of the agreed upon project is a pre-condition of the fellows award

Fellows will meet regularly with the sponsoring Library department to inform the design and delivery of the individual project.

For new course proposals, fellows will be required to submit the new course for approval using the existing new course approval process in their respective college.

The redesigned or newly created syllabus will be entered into the the next academic year's teaching calendar.

Each fellow shares the commitment to collaborate with the librarian/archivist partner to assess the course’s information-literacy/archives based learning outcomes(s) and willingness to share the data from the assessment of the learning outcomes with the librarian/archivist partner.

Fellows are expected to share their experience at a professional conference or in a professional publication. Further, fellows are expected to make a presentation to the campus through an appropriate venue. (Award of the stipend is not contingent upon conference/paper acceptance during the same year.)

Fellows will serve as part of the selection process for the next round of Faculty Fellows.

 

APPLICATION PROCESS

Please collect the following information to successfully complete the on-line application (click on the link above):

  • Applicant name, department, and email address
  • Course (name and number) into which you intend to integrate information literacy/archives-based learning
  • Abstract: A summary of the project (250 words or less)

Project statement of no more than 1500 words which includes:

  1. Context for the course, including: whether the proposal is for the creation of a new course or the redesign of an existing course, the approximate number of students enrolled, and the importance of the course to the department's or school’s course offerings or curriculum
     
  2. Central purpose or goals of the project
     
  3. Possible information literacy learning/archives-based learning outcomes to be integrated into course, as well as an explanation of how these outcomes connect to course/discipline-related content
     
  4. Significance and impact of the project on student learning (whether in relation to the department/school/college curriculum)
     
  5. Possible assignments, projects, or activities that will foster learning in relation to the stated learning outcomes
  6. Commitment to collaborate with the librarian/archivist partner to assess the course’s information-literacy/archives based learning outcomes(s) and willingness to share the data from the assessment of the learning outcomes with the librarian/archivist partner.
  7. The librarian’s/archivist's role as a collaborator in the project (partnership should extend beyond the librarian/archivist acting as a guest lecturer)
     
  8. Plan for sharing or disseminating results of the course (re)design
  • Syllabus for (re)designed course
  • Letters of support from a dean or department chair/other faculty
  • Current CV

Instruction & Research Fellows Project

Support

The Fellows Program supports the following Georgia College Initiatives: 

ENGAGE

Critical Thinking Overlay 

IC-bG

 

The Fellows Program also aligns itself with the following: 

Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education

SACS Principles of Accreditation